Some links on this page are paid affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site makes money
Products

Happy Head vs BiltRx for Beard Minoxidil: What Each Option Actually Includes

Both are scalp hair-loss telehealth programs. Neither markets itself for beards. Here is what each one says it offers, what it doesn't say, and what to ask before you sign up.

Updated October 16, 2026Minoxidil Beards editorial team

Off-label use: Topical minoxidil is FDA-approved only for scalp hair loss; using it on the beard is off-label, so talk to a clinician before you start, especially if you have heart or blood-pressure conditions or take other medications.

Short answer: Happy Head and BiltRx are both prescription hair-loss telehealth services, and as of October 12, 2026, neither one's hair pages mention beards or facial hair. Happy Head is built around custom topical formulas reviewed by a dermatologist. Its FAQ highlights a once-daily topical that combines finasteride and minoxidil. BiltRx is a broader men's telehealth brand. Its hair page lists minoxidil and finasteride and says its medications are compounded by licensed US 503A pharmacies. For a beard, the deciding factor isn't the brand. It's whether the prescriber will discuss facial use and give you a formula that suits your face. Ask before you pay.

Beard use of minoxidil is off-label with either service. Topical minoxidil is FDA-approved only for scalp hair loss. We don't print prices here because they change. Check each site for current pricing.

What each site says, side by side

Everything below comes from the companies' own pages, read on October 12, 2026. "Not stated" means we couldn't find it on the pages we read, not that the service doesn't offer it.

Happy HeadBiltRx
What it isHair-loss telehealth with custom prescription formulasMen's telehealth brand with a hair restoration and scalp health program
Hair medications namedTopical formulas, including a once-daily liposomal finasteride + minoxidil topical; topical finasterideMinoxidil and finasteride (form not specified on the page)
Oral minoxidilNot confirmed on the pages we could readNot specified
Who reviewsSite says a board-certified dermatologist reviews an online questionnaire and photosAn online intake reviewed by a provider; the page mentions coaches and care coordinators
CompoundingCustom formulas made fresh; we treat these as compounded, so not FDA-approved"Compounded by fully licensed U.S. 503A pharmacies"; "not FDA-approved for the specific uses discussed"
BillingSubscription; site says you can pause, skip or cancel, no contractsMonthly pricing shown; cancellation terms not stated on the hair page
State availabilityNot stated on pages read"Availability may vary by state"
Mentions beards or facial hairNoNo

Happy Head in more detail

Happy Head's site describes a consult in which you fill out a questionnaire and submit photos, and it says a board-certified dermatologist reviews them. The site describes the consultation as free. It describes custom formulas made fresh, free discreet shipping, ongoing doctor support and adjustments, and plans you can pause, skip or cancel without a contract. Its FAQ describes a liposomal formula that combines finasteride and minoxidil in a lipid base, applied once a day. Happy Head says the base allows gradual release and lower systemic absorption. That's the company's claim, and we haven't seen independent data on it for facial use.

One wording issue to know about: Happy Head's FAQ calls its formulas "prescription-grade, FDA-approved medicines." Minoxidil and finasteride are each FDA-approved for hair loss in specific forms: topical minoxidil for the scalp, and finasteride as a 1 mg oral tablet. A custom-mixed combination topical is a compounded product. The FDA says compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, and that it doesn't verify their safety, effectiveness or quality before marketing.

The beard-specific question for Happy Head

The headline formula contains finasteride, which works by lowering DHT. Beard growth depends on androgens, which is the reverse of the scalp situation. Whether a finasteride-containing topical is a good idea on your face is a real question for the prescriber. Our article on finasteride and beard growth covers the debate. If you want only minoxidil on your face, ask whether they'll prescribe a minoxidil-only formula. Also mention a pregnant partner or young children, because finasteride raises extra transfer concerns. See transfer to partners and kids.

BiltRx in more detail

BiltRx's hair restoration page lists minoxidil and finasteride, with pricing shown per month. The page doesn't say whether the minoxidil is topical or oral. It says medications are compounded by fully licensed US 503A pharmacies using FDA-approved or USP-grade ingredients. It says custom formulations are made when appropriate and that all medications are prescription-only. The page is upfront that many therapies on the site "are not FDA-approved for the specific uses discussed," and says a provider will review FDA-approved alternatives when applicable. Availability varies by state and by clinical suitability. Getting started runs through an online intake. The page also offers a coach, chat and a care coordinator.

The beard-specific question for BiltRx

Because the page doesn't specify the form of minoxidil, ask whether it's topical or oral. If it's oral, ask how the provider will screen your heart and blood pressure and who adjusts the dose. Our guide to topical vs oral minoxidil explains why the form matters so much. Also ask about cancellation terms, which aren't on the hair page.

What the two have in common

Strip away the branding and the two services share more than they differ. Both are built for scalp hair loss. Both rely on an online intake rather than an in-person exam. Both use compounded or custom products for at least part of what they offer, and both leave the final call to a prescriber. Both sell on a recurring basis. That means the questions that protect you are the same for both: what exactly is in the formula, who's watching for side effects, and how easy is it to stop.

What a good answer to "will you treat my beard?" sounds like

When you ask either service about facial use, the content of the answer matters more than whether it's a yes. A reassuring answer:

An answer that's a quick yes with a checkout link, or that promises a full beard by a certain date, is a reason to slow down. So is a reply that ignores the off-label question entirely.

Household check

Whichever service you use, a topical on your face is a topical your household can touch. Minoxidil residue is dangerous to cats, even from licking skin or a pillowcase. Tell the prescriber if you have pets, and read our cat safety guide before you start.

How to choose

  1. Decide topical or oral first, ideally with a clinician. That narrows things more than brand does.
  2. Ask each service whether it will prescribe for facial use, and get the answer in writing through the platform's messaging.
  3. Ask exactly what's in the formula: minoxidil concentration, whether finasteride is included, and the base or vehicle (propylene glycol matters if you've reacted before).
  4. Compare full terms on each site: total cost per shipment, billing cadence, pause and cancel steps, and what happens if you're declined.
  5. Check your state, since BiltRx says availability varies.

Our checklist of questions to ask a telehealth prescriber has the full list to copy into an intake form.

Do you need either one?

Not necessarily. Over-the-counter 5% minoxidil foam and solution are sold without a prescription. Labels for those products are written for the scalp and say not to apply them to other parts of the body, so facial use is off-label either way. A telehealth service adds a prescriber's review, custom formulas and access to oral options. Whether that's worth it depends on your history and what you want. Our guide to the best minoxidil options covers the OTC route.

What we couldn't confirm

If any of these matters to you, ask before ordering.

Check both services

Both links go to the companies' own sites. Check current plans, pricing and state availability there, and ask about facial use before you order.

Happy Head

Hair-loss telehealth. Its site describes a free consultation with a questionnaire and photo upload, custom formulas made fresh, and the option to pause, skip or cancel. Custom compounded formulas are not FDA-approved. A licensed provider decides whether a prescription is appropriate. Using minoxidil on the beard is off-label, so ask the provider about facial use.

Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness, or manufacturing quality. They should only be used when a prescriber determines an FDA-approved product does not meet your needs.

Check Happy Head →
BiltRx

Men's telehealth brand with a hair-restoration program. A licensed provider reviews your intake and decides whether treatment is appropriate. Review what's included and current pricing on their site before you start.

See BiltRx hair options →

FAQ

Does Happy Head or BiltRx prescribe minoxidil for beards?

Neither company's hair pages mention beards or facial hair as of October 12, 2026. Facial use is off-label, so ask the provider directly before ordering.

Are Happy Head and BiltRx formulas FDA-approved?

Custom or compounded formulas are not FDA-approved. BiltRx says its medications are compounded by licensed 503A pharmacies. Happy Head's custom topicals are mixed for each patient, which we treat as compounded.

Does Happy Head's formula contain finasteride?

Its FAQ highlights a once-daily topical that combines finasteride and minoxidil. Because beard growth depends on androgens, ask whether a minoxidil-only formula would suit your face better.

Which is cheaper, Happy Head or BiltRx?

We do not publish prices because they change. Check each site for the current total per shipment, including consult and shipping, and compare billing and cancellation terms.

Do I need a telehealth prescription for beard minoxidil?

Not for over-the-counter topical minoxidil, which is sold without a prescription. Oral minoxidil and custom compounded topicals require a prescriber.

References

  1. Happy Head. Home page and FAQ (read October 12, 2026). happyhead.com/faq
  2. BiltRx. Hair Restoration & Scalp Health (read October 12, 2026). biltrx.com
  3. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Compounding and the FDA: Questions and Answers (content current as of 09/16/2025). fda.gov
  4. Kirkland Signature Minoxidil Topical Aerosol 5% (foam) Drug Facts, Costco Wholesale Corp., revised 2/2025. DailyMed
  5. Minoxidil Topical Solution USP 5% Drug Facts, Sun Pharmaceutical Industries, revised 3/2026. DailyMed
Free Download

The Complete Hair Loss Treatment Guide

10 pages on finasteride, minoxidil, and combination approaches — what the evidence supports and realistic timelines.